Mamoru Hosoda’s Summer Wars in 2009

7 12 2008

The Japanese director and also animator Mamoru Hosoda (director for Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo (The Girl Who Leapt Through Time) or TokiKake, the Digimon franchise and more) is back with another work under his direction, Summer Wars (サマーウォーズ), that will be released next year. When in 2009? Why, the summer, of course! Only in Japan, though, as far as I know… I hope the movie will be available for import here in Sweden soon after it’s official release in Japan; when a movie with the word “summer” in its title is released in the summer, that’s the season when you’re supposed to watch it! Am I wrong? No, I’m not. If you think so, you just don’t care enough, you poor being.

Anyone else getting excited just from this picture?

Anyone else getting excited just from this picture?

Since not much more than that which I’m planning on sharing with you now has been said about this movie I might as well get out of my way and do it. Summer Wars follows a regular (can that really be?) family and an old woman (no offense, ma’am) on their adventures under the hopefully clear summer sky. I loved the Digimon franchise as a kid, and to be honest, I still do, but other than that I have no experience with Hosoda’s work and don’t dare give an estimation on how this story will progress. You’ll just have to watch and find it yourself, just like I’ll be doing somehow next summer.

Source: 2ch News Navigator via Anime News Network, Alafista.com and Thais Animeblogg


Actions

Information

One response

20 12 2010
Poster Talk: Summer Wars preview | Those Anodynes

[…] ask, it could either be about a young girl who drags her family through a bunch of adventures, or a family on an adventure with an old woman. Sketchy, I know. Nevertheless, I am already suspecting lots of green scenery – like set […]

Leave a comment